A New Start

I cried this morning.
Had something horrible happened? No

Was I terribly worried about someone I love? No

Was I moved to tears by a special moment? No

Am I depressed? No

I hit ‘submit’ on The Body Coach questionnaire to join the 90 Day Shift Shape and Sustain Programme, which means that right now, a stranger is looking at my near-naked photographs, reading about my weight-loss attempts, my lifestyle challenges, my poor food choices and my lack of motivation to exercise regularly. They’ll say they’re not, but they’ll be judging me, comparing me to themselves, to other women my age, to anyone who’s fitter, thinner and better than me.

I didn’t cry because I’m terribly ashamed of my bikini pics; I am what I am, after all. I cried because I am embarking on, yet again, ANOTHER attempt to get fit, get healthy, lose weight and keep it that way, and I can’t say I’m entirely confident I’m going to manage it.

So, here I am, this Firefighters Wife is going to document the highs and lows, the progress (or lack thereof) and give a real life review of 90DaySSS.

What’s it all about? 

Joe Wicks! I’ve seen him (haven’t we all?) on facebook, Twitter, YouTube, the Daily Mail. According to his website, “Joe Wicks is an online nutrition coach and creator of the 90 Day SSS Plan which has transformed the lives of thousands of people all over the world!” He and his team create a food plan, based on macronutrients, and an exercise programme specific to your requirements, once you have paid for his coaching and completed a very lengthy questionnaire.

Right now, I’m waiting for my plan (apparently it’ll take 7-10 days to appear in my inbox). I’m trying to enjoy eating whatever I want before the restrictions of this new lifestyle take over. I now this isn’t how I’m supposed to be thinking, but I’m afraid that I am. I can imagine that, on the evening before I start (which I’m planning on being one week from Monday) I’ll binge on wine, crisps and whatever else I fancy. Not healthy, I now, neither physically nor emotionally, but it’s where my brain is at.

Like so many of us, I’ve done loads of diets – Weightwatchers, Scottish Slimmers, Slimming World, Atkins, Lighter Life, the Fast Diet, the South Beach Diet… Need I go on? And my conclusion is… Wait for it… Diets don’t work! It must be a change in lifestyle to work long-term. I’ve made this lifestyle change already, to a degree. As a family, all of our meals are home-cooked and about 85% ‘clean’. My problems are the evening snacking, regular red wine drinking and lack of exercise. I have plenty of excuses or reasons – the main one being I’m so busy! With 5 kids, a job, running a business, I often feel the need to ‘treat’ myself with wine and food, or with evenings in front of the TV, rather than at the gym.

I’m hoping that, by documenting the process here, I’ll have some extra motivation when things get tough. There will be a level of accountability, whether anyone reads this blog or not. I can’t promise to post my before and after pics (especially if they both look the same!!!) but I’ll post updates, recipes, how I’m feeling, how I’m coping and everything else that goes along with this new lifestyle.

I just hope I don’t fuck it up this time. Keep me on track, Joe Wicks!

2 thoughts on “A New Start

  1. Hey! I’ve just signed up for the 90 Day SSS plan as well. Have sent off my questionnaire and haven’t received the plan yet but I’m so excited to get started. I’m going to be blogging my process, too. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

