Clean Brekkies

For the past few months I’ve been eating, and feeding my family, about 90% clean. This is for various reasons, and, yes, one of them is to lose a few pounds. But more than that, I want to be healthy, I want my family to be healthy, I want my husband and kids to live long lives and, of course, me too!

Clean eating means different things to different people, but to me it’s simple: if you can kill it or pick it, it’s ok. If it’s packaged or in a jar, then it’s probably not. 

I don’t use half-fat or fat-free products. It’s full fat for us. Real food, nothing added, nothing removed.

Along with getting regular exercise, this way of eating has made me feel SO much healthier – my body just works better like this. I’ve lost a few pounds and, whilst I’m hoping that’ll continue, it’s not the be-all-and-end-all to me. 
So, have I faced challenges? YES! One of them has been breakfasts. I’m a toast, butter and jam type of gal, and giving this little delicacy up was difficult. More difficult, however, was working out what to eat in its place. Here are some of my ideas:

BAKED EGGS This one is so simple and feels luxurious! 
Grease a muffin tin with coconut oil and line each muffin with Parma ham, or ham of your choice. Crack in an egg, add a little salt and bake at 190* for approx 20 mins.

I do this quickly before my showers in the morning and, by the time I’m dressed they are ready. Add some pre-washed veg to your plate and you’re done!

BANANA EGG PANCAKES

Mash a banana to within an inch of its life and, when it’s really runny, add it to 2 whisked eggs. Whisk together and drop a spoonful onto a hot griddle or non-stick frying pan. Fry like a normal pancake.

Pour over pure maple syrup. So yummy.

FRUITY PORRIDGE

  We all know how to make porridge but try it this way. For every cup of porridge, you’ll need 2 cups of liquid. I use half water, half skimmed milk.

Put the porridge, water and milk into a pot, add a pinch of salt and a dessertspoonful of honey and hear till simmering. Stir it regularly so it doesn’t stick or burn.

When it’s simmering and thick serve in a bowl and add your fruit. I love blueberries, and if you add frozen ones, it cools the porridge quickly so you can eat it straight away.

Try adding apple and cinnamon, red berries or pineapple.

NO-PASTRY QUICHE

  Grease the muffin tray with coconut oil again and add finely chopped veg to almost fill each muffin. Here I used broccolli, spring onion, peppers but you could add anything – grated carrot, cauliflower, sweet potato, any veg you like!

Whisk eggs – coun one per for 2 muffins, so if you have a tray of 12, whisk 6 eggs. Divide the egg evenly between each muffin and pour over your veg.

Grate some cheese and sprinkle a little on top of each muffin, then bake at 190* for about 20 mins.

These will keep for a couple of days in the fridge so make up a batch and re-heat when required or take to work (or wherever) for breakfast on the run.

In the pic, I’ve added some fresh tomato slices and crudités with Mayo to dip, and for essential fats.

Keep your eye on my blog for more clean recipes. I’ll drop them in as I try them!

Leave a Reply

